The Grand Lodge of Spain

The Grand Lodge of Spain was created on November 6, 1982, in Madrid. Its current headquarters are in Barcelona

Masonry has been banned several times in the history of Spain. Last time it was banned was at the end of the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939). The ban was lifted and Masonic activity was resumed once democracy returned to Spain with the death of Francisco Franco.

It is organized in six Masonic Provinces, each one with its own Provincial Grand Lodge:

  •     Provincial Grand Lodge of Andalucia
  •     Provincial Grand Lodge of Baleares
  •     Provincial Grand Lodge of Canarias
  •     Provincial Grand Lodge of Castilla
  •     Provincial Grand Lodge of Cataluña
  •     Provincial Grand Lodge of Valencia

Television Interview on Freemasonry with the Grand Master of Spain

This is an interesting interview with D. Oscar de Alfonso Ortega, Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Spain, and D. Pere Sánchez, member of the G.L.E. and historian of Freemasonry on the Spanish television program “For All” on the 2nd of May, 2012.

The video is subtitled in English!


Leave a comment

View comments